Time for your choice

After the WhatsApp privacy policy expires, Google Photos will expire free of charge. Starting tomorrow, the application will no longer keep you waiting to make your decision. If you have more than 15 GB of photos and videos stored, you will have to pay.

However, if the information may seem volatile to you, Google announced its decision as of November 12, 2020. Until then, Android users were used to using Google Photos on their devices without restrictions as long as they saved their photos in “High Quality” and not in “Best Quality” (actual size, without compression).

Regardless of the format of the images, you now have to go through the payment box if you want to use the service conveniently. In fact, only the first 15 GB of images are free. And as if that wasn’t enough, that 15GB is also shared with the Google Drive cloud service, which you may also be using. In order to be able to go even further, the company offers “Google One”.

Which solutions?

To help you make your choice, we first offer instructions on how to export your Google Photos files to another platform. Then a few days ago we put together a guide to alternatives to Google Photos for you. These include in particular Apple and iCloud (50 GB for € 0.99 per month), Dropbox or Microsoft 365 and iDrive.

What are the prices to stay on Google Photos? Its Google One offering offers 100 GB of storage for a monthly payment of € 1.99 per month or € 19.99 per year. Then there is a 200 GB subscription for € 2.99 per month or € 29.99 per year. The most comprehensive plan is 2TB for € 9.99 per month or € 99.99 per year.

Note that Google will not notify you of this change if you are not near the 15GB limit. Many users have not yet activated automatic cloud synchronization and will notice this when they want to switch their smartphone.

So take the time today to think about it, even if it doesn’t put you at a disadvantage, choosing your storage service well and not rushing to Google. If you have a device from the Google Pixel range, you can still save indefinitely, but only through the ability to compress images.

Back to top button